top of page

Book Review - The Running Dream

Note: This is a repost from my previous blog. I still love this book. My reviews share more of what I took away from the book instead of a breakdown of the book itself.

Today I read an entire book in one day. I think this is the first time this have ever happened in my life. There have been several books I've read quickly. I only took a few days to a few weeks to finish each of the Harry Potter books. When I was traveling, I was able to read through books quickly, but most of the time my schedule doesn't allow me to get a lot of reading in.

One of my best gifts this Father's Day was reading. I was able to finish The Giver. I'd been reading it over the past few weeks. I really enjoyed the story and the quality of the writing and story telling. Once I finished that book, it was time to move onto the next book in our summer family reading challenge - The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen.

We enjoy running. In fact, this book is what got both of my daughters interested in running. It is such a beautiful story about the strength of the human spirit, and the deep desire we have to help others who are in need. I won't say anymore about the book except go and read it, and grab some tissues for the end.

As I finished the book the power of this story struck me. I couldn't stop turning the pages. I had to know what was going to happen to this girl. How was she going to over come this challenge? The theme of overcoming challenges is something everyone can relate to, but the true beauty came in the end. The moment the main character rose above her challenges is when her gaze focused on the needs of another. In that moment, she realized that she could help and lift another. She realized that she could win her own battle, and help a friend realize an impossible dream.

I loved this book. It is definitely one that everyone should read.

-Ted

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page