top of page

Writer's Block

I have listened to several of my writing friends lately talk about writer's block. What causes the "block"? How do you get past the block?

What causes the "block"

I've heard some writers say that you get writers block because you don't have enough ideas in your tank. Others say that you are just too distracted. Maybe you are afraid to move forward and write. Often I get stuck doing too much in my head rather than on paper. Another problem I ran into with an early draft of my current novel is that I started in the wrong place. I had plenty of ideas, i just hit a dead end and couldn't move farther. I really think that the block is a mixture of lack of ideas, preparation, distraction, and organization

How do you get past the "block"

There are lots of things you can do go get past the block. Go for a walk, watch a movie, read a book, take a nap. Just do something to put your mind eat ease and don't worry about.

Find somewhere you can go to people watch. I just discovered that i love people watching at concerts. You will find that you will start creating scenes for the people you see. The airport is another place I love to people watch.

Find a way to focus yourself. Music works well for me.

Get organized. Writing is as technical and formulaic as it is creative. I am not suggesting that you take the creative out of your writing, but if you have a form to follow, it is easier for your creative juices to fill in the juice. I have become a big fan of outlining. Outlines help me make sure I am following my pattern. That way I always know where I am going and my creativity can fill in the gaps.

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page