top of page

Focus on the big rocks


One of the challenges we face living in a busy and often noise world is staying focused on what matters most and not being distracted. I love the metaphor of filling your bucket with rocks pebbles and sand. If you put the sand in first and then the pebbles, you won’t have room for all of the rocks.if you change the order and put the biggest rocks in first, then the pebbles, and finally the sand - miraculously you can fit everything in one bucket.


Our lives are like this. We have to take care of the big rocks first. For me, to of the big rocks are my relationship with God and my relationships with my wife and daughters. I know if I give these relationships the proper attention, everything else falls into place.


Life is still busy and it’s still easy to get distracted. To be honest, I get distracted often. It is a daily effort to make sure the big rocks go in first. When I do, I have clarity and focus.


So if life feels a little busy or your struggling to accomplish things, step back and see if you are putting in sand or rocks first.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page