top of page

Book Review - The Speed of Trust


This is not a review about a book on the craft of writing. Like the cover state, this is a book about the one thing that changes everything - Trust.

I've read other books by the author or by his father Stephen R. Covey before. They are well written and easy to apply. I also recently attended a 7 Habits of HIghly Effect People training course.

Both the other books and the training were insightful and have helped me be more effective at work and in my personal life, but they didn't impact me the way this book did.

What is the Speed of Trust

The author introduces five waves or areas / aspects of trust - Self Trust, Relationship Trust, Organizational Trust, Market Trust, and Societal Trust. Each wave looks at how trust can be both lost and gained in that area.

The Trust Framework

Self Trust and Relationship Trust waves create the foundation for the other waves. For me, these waves were the most important and had the biggest impact. These two waves introduce the framework for the rest of the book - credibility and behaviors.

Under Self Trust, the author introduces the principle of credibility. There are four core principles to credibility: integrity, intent, capability, and results. Under Relationship Trust, the author introduces 13 principles of behavior:

  1. Talk Straight

  2. Demonstrate Respect

  3. Create Transparency

  4. Right Wrongs

  5. Show Loyality

  6. Deliver Results

  7. Get Better

  8. Confront Reality

  9. Clarify Expectations

  10. Practice Accountability

  11. Listen First

  12. Keep Commitments

  13. Extend Trust

The goal of the four core and 13 principles is to help readers discover ways to build, restore and give trust freely.

Recommendation

I highly recommend reading this book. One of the big things I learned is that you have to trust yourself if you are going to deliver results. There is a quiz in the Self Trust section that helps you evaluate how you think you are doing with integrity, intent, capability, and results. It is very eye opening and helpful.

After I started reading the book, I began to see how trust is why we run into challenges in any element in life. Either we don't trust ourselves or someone else. This book made me more aware of what I need to change in myself, and how I can better extent trust to others.

Get the book: Amazon | Barnes&Noble.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page